What I’ve Been Doing

July 24, 2010 at 12:30 pm Leave a comment

Mostly just grading (this spring) and cooking (this summer).  So.  Much.  Grading.  Here’s a sample of the cooking:

num num

Tuna Noodle Casserole

Good stuff.  I made it for the first time a few days ago and then again today.  Several days’ lunch!

I learned today that brief contact of skin with 350F oven walls makes the skin turn white.  It’s not blistering (yet?) so I hope it’ll heal without a fuss.  I have no idea why I was using a dish towel instead of the heavy-duty oven mitt that was the same reach-distance away, but I won’t do that again.

I melted off my fingerprints once by slightly more prolonged contact with a 400F cast iron skillet.  They grew back.

honey granola

Honey Granola Bread

I’m looking at bread machines because I like homemade bread but not kneading.  I’ll definitely make the honey granola again, with some tweaks.  It was too dense and floury the first time but otherwise was very tasty.  Nice understated sweetness from the honey, with fun textural bits from the granola.

Cheesy Potato Bread

The cheesy potato bread was good too, though an annoying shape.  I’ll probably stick to loaf pans for ease of sticking bread slices into the toaster.

Of course research goes on. Here’s a photo I rather like.

Male Swordtail

“What are you doing with that flashing thing, human?”

I spend my mornings on campus either actively data gathering (done with that now, pretty much) or reading up on previous studies of this nature.  Friday mornings are for stalking some possible PhD advisors.  After lunch I go to the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History and continue inventorying and otherwise tidying up the ichthyology collection.  It’s not the most exciting job, but it pays very well and I’ve had much worse jobs.

I’ve also been reading a lot this past month. I recently purchased Chalice, Dune, Elantris, and the first 3 of the Foundation series.  I’ve read 5 of these so far.  I’m assembling a massive Amazon wishlist of all the things I want to read at some point, but am waiting for the better paychecks I get during the semester.  I really liked Elantris, which makes me more interested in buying more books by that author.  I’ll also get the last 4 of the Foundation books.  Love me some Asimov <3

I should probably get a Kindle at some point, or some other variety of digital reader.  I’ve moved around 12 times in the past 6 years and will move again next summer to wherever I’m doing my PhD.  Hopefully after that I’ll be able to settle in that place and not change apartments for 5 years…  Anyway, all that moving has made me very aware of just how heavy books are.  I prefer having a physical copy, but meh.  Practicality will eventually win out over preference.

Entry filed under: Food, General, Research, University.

Decade in Review

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Great Webcomics

Love this webcomic This one too Some swears sometimes Some swears sometimes

Archives


